What are the 4 stages of PCOS?

PCOS Diva is a choice. When you choose to be a PCOS Diva, you choose hope. PCOS Diva is a commitment to yourself and to embracing the self-care, self-love and respect that you deserve.

What are the 4 stages of PCOS?

PCOS Diva recognizes that Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) is a complex condition that can manifest differently in each individual. While PCOS does not have distinct "stages" like some other medical conditions, it is commonly characterized by four key components or features that may be present to varying degrees in women with PCOS. These components, often referred to as the "4 types" of PCOS, include:

Insulin Resistance:

Insulin resistance occurs when the body's cells become less responsive to the effects of insulin, leading to elevated blood sugar levels and increased insulin production by the pancreas. Insulin resistance is a hallmark feature of PCOS and is closely associated with hormonal imbalances, metabolic dysfunction, and weight gain.

Women with insulin-resistant PCOS may experience symptoms such as weight gain, abdominal obesity, cravings for sugary or starchy foods, fatigue, and difficulty losing weight despite efforts to diet and exercise.


Hyperandrogenism refers to elevated levels of androgens (male hormones) such as testosterone in women with PCOS. Excess androgens can contribute to symptoms such as hirsutism (excessive hair growth), acne, male-pattern baldness, and irregular menstrual cycles.

Women with hyperandrogenic PCOS may experience symptoms related to androgen excess, which can vary in severity depending on individual hormone levels and sensitivity to androgens.

Ovulatory Dysfunction:

Ovulatory dysfunction refers to irregular ovulation or anovulation (lack of ovulation) in women with PCOS, which can lead to menstrual irregularities, infertility, and difficulty conceiving.

Women with ovulatory dysfunction may experience symptoms such as irregular menstrual cycles, infrequent or absent periods, and difficulty predicting ovulation or timing intercourse for conception.

Polycystic Ovaries:

Polycystic ovaries are enlarged ovaries containing multiple small follicles (fluid-filled sacs) that may fail to mature and release eggs regularly. While the presence of polycystic ovaries is a characteristic feature of PCOS, not all women with PCOS have polycystic ovaries, and not all women with polycystic ovaries have PCOS.

Polycystic ovaries may be detected through imaging tests such as ultrasound and are often accompanied by other symptoms of PCOS such as irregular menstrual cycles, hyperandrogenism, and insulin resistance.

It's important to note that PCOS is a heterogeneous condition, meaning it can present differently in each individual, and not all women with PCOS will experience all four components or features to the same degree. Additionally, PCOS may evolve over time, with symptoms and severity varying throughout a woman's life. PCOS Diva recognizes the importance of personalized, holistic approaches to managing PCOS that address individual symptoms, concerns, and goals. By understanding the key components of PCOS and working with knowledgeable healthcare providers, women with PCOS can take proactive steps towards managing their condition and improving their overall health and well-being.

What's Your Reaction?